For the 2023 thermal season, the Office de Tourisme et du Thermalisme is offering various guided tours by volunteer guides, by reservation at the latest the day before each visit.

Guided tours of the Medieval Quarter

  • From 22 March 2023, every Tuesday
  • Office de Tourisme et du Thermalisme, Place de la Mairie, 71140 BOURBON-LANCY
  • Duration : about 2 hours
  • Price: 5€ per adult – 2.50€ from 7 to 18 years old – Free for children under 7 years old

Commented tours Quartier St-Léger

  • Dates : From 22 March 2023, every other Friday
  • Starting: Place d’Aligre (Esplanade), Quartier Thermal, 71140 BOURBON-LANCY
  • Duration : 2h approximately
  • Price: 5€ per adult – 2.50€ from 7 to 18 years old – Free for children under 7 years old

Guided tours Church of Saint Nazaire

  • Dates : From 22 March 2023, one of every two Wednesdays
  • Starting at: Eglise Saint-Nazaire, Rue du Musée, 71140 BOURBON-LANCY
  • Price: 5€ per adult – 2.50€ from 7 to 18 years old – Free for children under 7 years old


Come and discover Bourbon-Lancy, a Cluniac site with its Romanesque church set up as a museum, a medieval enclosure,…

Medieval enclosure


The old town of Bourbon-Lancy was built in the Middle Ages at the foot of the castle built by the first lord of Bourbon, Anseide.
Today, it remains a picturesque old quarter where the half-timbered houses and their cascades of flowers throughout the season offer passers-by the remarkable charm of this area.

From the “maison de bois” to the garden of the Collegiate Church, via the ruelle aux loups and the square of Madame de Genlis, the charm of these places steeped in history will not leave you indifferent.

Consult our brochure to find out more

The ramparts, which were no longer needed after the feudal period, were integrated into the properties that were built on one side on Chemin des Tours and on the other on Rue Notre-Dame.

The view from this walk along the ramparts is unchanged, and is almost the same as the view enjoyed by the lords of the castle and their sentries.

Discover the Remparts path, passing through Rue Notre-Dame, the ruelle aux loups, Place de l’Ermitage, Rue Pingré and the Town Hall.

Consult our brochure to find out more

The Belfry is now a listed monument and is home to the “Beurdin”, a colourful automaton that rings the bell every hour and sticks out its tongue at passers-by.

The work of the sculptor Georges Kirsch, this character, whose local name evokes a kind but rather simple man, symbolises the little people who lived in this part of the city until recently.

Discover the history of the beginning of the 20th century and meet the “Fratrie des Beurdins” during your visit.

Consult our brochure to find out more

The Belfry

This former main gate of the medieval walled city was inaugurated on Sunday 4 April 1389 by Philip II, then Duke of Burgundy, with his son John, who later became the famous “John the Fearless”, at his side. At the time, it was equipped with a drawbridge, the location of which can still be seen, as well as the passage of the chains. Behind it, a portcullis descended, and the whole was closed by a heavy wooden door. At the top of the tower, a lookout was placed to keep an eye on the surroundings. From the 16th century onwards, a clock was installed here, hence the name “clock tower”, still used by the inhabitants of the town.

The wooden house known as Maison Sévigné

This half-timbered house is also classified as a historical monument and dates from the beginning of the 16th century. It is said that Madame de Sevigne stayed here. The building had a second floor but in 1852 a fire destroyed the roof and the top floor.

The Collegiate Garden

This very pretty little formal garden was laid out on the site of a former collegiate church founded in 1495 by Guy de Salins, Lord of La Nocle. At the bottom of the garden stands a pink marble column of Roman origin. It is the largest remaining vestige of this period in Bourbon-Lancy.

Consult our brochure to find out more

Other heritage

The monuments in the town centre of Bourbon-Lancy are to be discovered:

  • the Town Hall built in the 18th century
  • The Puzenat and Sarrien Castles, former residences of the 18th and 19th centuries: visit the exteriors only.
  • Church of the Sacred Heart

Original Revival style, it was built in 1881 and consecrated by Cardinal Penaud on 20 October 1896.

It stands on the site of the chapel and convent of the Ursulines, which, during the revolution, was transformed into “popular meeting halls” and then demolished. All that remains is the bell tower cross which was placed on the road to Chalmoux and the white stone altar given to the Ursuline church by Louis and Pauline Pinot in 1857, which is in the present church.


The front of this altar is in the form of an open triptych, the hinges of which are the tall columns with Corinthian capitals.

At the top of the altar runs the rampart of a city with its towers and battlements, a representation of the heavenly Jerusalem, the abode of Christ and the saints.
The central panel, the Virgin crowned with the Child, recalls the Ursulines’ devotion to Mary.
To his right, St John the Evangelist, patron saint of the hospital and the upper town.
To his left St Joseph holding the flowery staff, sign of his election to be Mary’s husband.

The two adjacent statues are St Louis crowned and St Paul, names of the donors.

On the two smaller panels are depicted St. Celt holding the palm of martyrdom and St. Peter, patron saint of the universal church.

Two angels frame the triptych: the angel of the mass and perhaps the guardian angel of St. Angela Merici, founder of the Ursulines.
On the left, Christ at the Tomb is a work by Merlette, 1889.

  • Church of Saint-Nazaire

Classified as a Cluniac site, its construction dates back to the end of the 10th century. It is one of the rare representatives of the early Romanesque style.
This monument, squat on the outside but of majestic proportions inside, was the church of a priory dependent on Cluny. The church was founded in 1030 by Anséide de Bourbon (the lord after whom the town is named).
The nave, with its panelled ceilings, represents one of the last testimonies of Carolingian type construction.

It is the only one of its kind in the world to have been built in the 19th century, and it was saved by Ferdinand Sarrien, the future President of the Council of the Third Republic and Mayor of Bourbon-Lancy.

Classified as a Historic Monument in 1893, it was then restored and became a Municipal Museum.

The European Federation of Cluniac Sites aims to bring together the places in Europe that contributed to the extraordinary influence of the Abbey of Cluny (Southern Burgundy) from the 10th to the 18th century! spiritual, artistic, economic, political and social influence. The monks of Cluny were responsible for the emergence of hundreds of towns and cities. Each of them is the holder of a piece of this unique European cultural heritage.

  • The hamlet of Le Fourneau (part of the commune of Bourbon-Lancy)

This hamlet is located 5 km from the town centre towards Moulins on the banks of the Loire.

On the village square is exposed the Glacière with the most significant machines of an installation which, at the beginning of the 20th century, supplied hotels, restaurants, bars, butchers, pork butchers… of the surroundings with ice loaves.

The compressor was driven either by a water turbine or by a Winterthur coal gas engine. Out of use since 1936, this machine was brought out of oblivion 60 years later by a team of enthusiasts and put on static display.

The Winterthur engine and the reproduced frame are very representative of the technique of the 1900s.

  • Centre Hospitalier Fondation d’Aligre

With its chapel and thermal establishment dating from the 19th century. Installed in the former convent of the Visitation (now the Grand Hotel), the hospital of the Baths founded by François Pingré de Farivilliers in 1697, quickly became too small. In 1841, the Marquis and Marquise d’Aligre donated 100,000 francs and several estates to the town of Bourbon-Lancy. After the death of his wife in 1843, the Marquis became increasingly involved in the town. In particular, he wanted the inhabitants to have clean and healthy water. He had a fountain built in Place Saint-Léger. He wanted to increase the capacity and quality of care at the hospital. He decided to build a new establishment.

The marquis did not see the laying of the first stone as he died in 1847, after having written several wills and codicils bequeathing the hospice, estimated at nearly four million francs at the time, to the town. According to the marquis’ wishes, the chapel was built first. He wanted it to be his last home. For 150 years, transformations and extensions have followed one another, while preserving the aesthetics of the initial architecture.

Public health establishment, medico-social sector of medicine, convalescence (48 beds), accommodation for the elderly (214 beds)

Neo-Gothic chapel located in the Aligre hospital. Altar and pulpit from the 17th century. Former thermal baths of Bourbon-Lancy

Check out our Brochure for more information


Jardin de France – Parfums Made in Bourgogne

Jardin of France perfume factory

A French and artisanal production made in the heart of the spa town of Bourbon-Lancy on the border of the Allier and Saône-et-Loire departments. On the site of an old soap factory, discover a precious universe: the creation of perfumes.

Proud of its authentic experience, the Manufacture de Parfums has been opening its doors to you for more than 3 years in order to share with you its most beautiful manufacturing secrets. You will also immerse yourself in the complementary activities AQUA FLORE ( and DISSOL ( which have also given rhythm to the day-to-day life of the JARDIN DE FRANCE Group for more than 10 years.



Tuesday and Thursday (except on public holidays and annual closures)

Start of the tour: 3pm

Duration: 1 hour (excluding shop area)


Price :

Full price (adult) : 5,00

Reduced rate (children from 7 to 18 years old, students, unavoidable 71…) : 3,00€

Free: children under 7 years old.


Reservation :

Manufacture de Parfums :

By phone: 03 85 89 92 55 or by mail:

Office de Tourisme et du Thermalisme de Bourbon-Lancy :

By phone : 03 85 89 18 27 or by mail :


Number limited to 20 people per visit.



We invite you to contact JARDIN DE FRANCE by phone 03 85 89 92 55 or by email : for all requests.


Partez à la découverte de la richesse de nos musées


In the setting of the thousand year old architecture of the church of Saint-Nazaire, testimonies of the different civilisations that have succeeded one another in the region have been gathered together, from the first stone axes of prehistoric man, to the fragments of Gallo-Roman pottery, burials, pilgrims on the road to Santiago de Compostela. … to the remains of ancient monuments of Bourbon-Lancy (Thermal baths, Leprosarium, Saint-Martin’s Church, etc…)

Among the paintings on display, we note a canvas by Merlette (a 19th century Bourbon painter who enjoyed a certain notoriety), studies by Puvis de Chavannes (19th century) for the Hôtel de Ville in Paris and the very famous “Family of Fishermen” as well as works by painters such asRameau or Le Bourg, and sculptors such as Barrias or Bouchard.

A collection of Sèvres vases and several works by the sculptor Beguinne are also on display.

This museum offers a retrospective of Puzenat agricultural machinery since 1874.

Émile Puzenat, a small blacksmith in Bourbon-Lancy, took advantage of the Industrial Revolution at the end of the 19th century to develop agricultural machinery.

Bourbon Expo also contains a Museum of Wooden Tools in which you can discover various woodworking trades (clog makers, carpenters, coopers…) as well as hundreds of planes.

The oldest tools found date from the Gallo-Roman period but it seems that these tools were born even earlier…

In the 19th century, the Industrial Revolution transformed the craft industry into a rural industry.
Emile PUZENAT, then tried his luck by making cultivation equipment.
The invention of the Z harrow in 1874 was the starting point of a dazzling rise …

Museum visible only on guided tours for groups depending on the availability of volunteers.

Contact details:

Museum of the Puzenat Farming Machine and woodworking tools

Rue du Docteur Pain – 71140 BOURBON-LANCY